Studio

Frederick Fisher and Partners has committed its practice to enhancing the passion and energy of communities and organizations of all types around the globe. Our studio is inspired by a wide aesthetic character range influenced by historical and cultural references, local context, projected use and integrated technology. Known for cultivating and enriching living, learning, cultural and working spaces in public and private atmospheres, FF&P’s projects are diverse while sharing a common approach of connecting people to their environments and to each other.

Our studio is led by three partners who stay directly involved in the daily nuances of the firm. They are vital to developing project strategy and team organization. The firm’s Next Generation leaders, along with handpicked designers, architects, and project managers represent the future of Frederick Fisher and Partners as a firm that fully understands and appreciates each team member. Our entire firm contributes to an ongoing shared dialog about new ways of living, learning, working, and experiencing art and culture. For the latest news and dialog, take a look at our blog: Inside Outside.

Asking questions is at the heart of our practice. Here, we ask ourselves the essentials...

Where does Frederick Fisher and Partners work?
When was it founded?
What's the FF&P design philosophy?
What inspires the work?
Who works at FF&P?
What's essential to the architecture process?
Some of the firm's favorite materials?
What's the hallmark of FF&P's architecture?
What's next?

Partners

Our leadership is critical to realizing appropriate and innovative design solutions that are award-winning and visionary. Our team members thread this inspiration into every project for consistency in our quality, ethos and spirit.

Frederick Fisher

Driven to create fulfilling environments, Frederick Fisher approaches architecture as a collaborative process. Frederick gained stature in the art and academic worlds by designing exceptional spaces for the practice and exhibition of art, as well as for intense, interdisciplinary study. Recognition of his legacy of design excellence is reflected in his selection as the 2013 Gold Medal recipient by the Los Angeles Chapter of the American Institute of Architects, the highest honor awarded by each chapter. He is a Fellow of the American Academy in Rome, where he combined his passions for art and architecture in the exploration of museum meaning and design. A registered architect since 1978, Fisher received his Bachelor of Arts degree from Oberlin College in Art and Art History and a Master’s of Architecture from UCLA. He was Chairman of the Environmental Design Department at Otis College of Art & Design for seven years and is currently Chairman of the Board of Governors. Fred is also a Board Member for both the Board of Councilors at USC School of Architecture and the Board of Visitors at the UCLA School of the Arts. As founder of FF&P, he directs a practice that prides itself on architecture that is responsive, realistic, responsible, and revelatory. “If you make something that brings people pleasure and fulfillment,” he says, “then you’ve done your job as an architect.”

David Ross

David has over 30 years of experience as an architect and project manager with Frederick Fisher and Partners. He is the in-house housing expert, and has built a recognized expertise in mid-century modern projects. As the design lead on residential projects, David has been instrumental in the seminal designs for some of FF&P’s recognizable residential projects.

Joseph Coriaty

Joseph Coriaty, FAIA is a vibrant and passionate champion of the process of making for FF&P. With over 27 years of collaboration at the firm, he takes a personal interest in making sure that each of our projects are beautiful and engaging as practical and efficient. Joseph is essential both in spearheading the development of a thorough and efficient programming & design effort while maintaining strict adherence to budget and schedule expectation of the client throughout the project.

Next Generation

We know the future of our firm relies on the strength of its successors – the individuals most capable of growing and maintaining client relationships and the designers most capable of realizing our clients’ visions. Takashige Ikawa, Matthew Kelley, Marisa Kurtzman and Nathan Prevendar are leading the way shaping the future of FF&P.

Marisa Kurtzman

Marisa Kurtzman, RA, LEED AP brings energy and focus to spearheading FF&P’s visioning, programming, and planning work. A linguist and a “people person,” she loves finding out what makes institutions and organizations tick, and then translating those values and goals into design concepts that are distinctly expressive of their identities. Marisa received her Bachelor of Arts from Wesleyan University, and her Master of Architecture from Yale.

Takashige Ikawa

A native of Japan and a graduate of SCI-Arc, Takashige Ikawa is both precise and poetic. Perhaps due to his early training as a photographer, he sees architecture as a series of emotional moments to be connected through space and time. Whether designing a house, an exhibition, or a large creative workspace, Taka immerses himself in context and the spirit of a place. The results are diverse, but consistently thoughtful and thought-through.

Matthew Kelley

Matthew Kelley, AIA is as visionary as he is pragmatic. A careful observer, Matt has been able to absorb and influence FF&P’s design ethos in equal measure. His versatility has propelled him into a leading role in designing some of our signature institutional and commercial projects, from their guiding ideas to their complex construction details. Matt obtained his Bachelor of Arts from Brown University, and got his Masters in Architecture from SCI-Arc.

Nathan Prevendar

Methodical but easygoing, Nathan Prevendar is a nimble manager of the entire design and construction process. Nathan cares deeply about his clients and teams, and is known for accessibility and responsiveness. His empathic yet objective approach to architectural practice has enabled him to lead all types and scales of FF&P projects, from large academic buildings to houses. Nathan obtained his Bachelor of Architecture from USC and his Master of Science in Architectural Studies from MIT.

Team

The pulse of FF&P comes from its team members. They bring creativity, enthusiasm and a curiosity to work every single day and function as a well-oiled machine equipped with the skills and passion to positively impact the broader community.

Partners

Joseph Coriaty FAIA

joec@fisherpartners.net

Frederick Fisher FAAR, AIA

fred@fisherpartners.net

David Ross AIA

davidr@fisherpartners.net
Senior Associates

Trevor Behner AIA, LEED AP

trevorb@fisherpartners.net

Ron Benson AIA, LEED AP

ronb@fisherpartners.net

John Berley Associate AIA

johnb@fisherpartners.net

Brent Eckerman AIA

brente@fisherpartners.net

Selena Linkous RA

selenal@fisherpartners.net

Hector Semidey

hectors@fisherpartners.net
Associates

Takashige Ikawa

takai@fisherpartners.net

Matthew Kelley AIA, LEED AP

mattk@fisherpartners.net

Marisa Kurtzman RA, LEED AP

marisak@fisherpartners.net

Nathan Prevendar Associate AIA

nathanp@fisherpartners.net
Team Members

Yasaman Barmaki

yasamanb@fisherpartners.net

Jennifer Gilman

jenniferg@fisherpartners.net

Sapeer Hillel

sapeerh@fisherpartners.net

Jake Lazere

jakel@fisherpartners.net

David Manzano LEED AP

davidm@fisherpartners.net

Christian Menna

christianm@fisherpartners.net

Mariam Mojdehi AIA, LEED AP

mariamm@fisherpartners.net

Giancarlo Montano

giancarlom@fisherpartners.net

Patrick Ruggiero

patrickr@fisherpartners.net

Tania Sew Hoy RA, LEED AP

taniash@fisherpartners.net

Melissa Shi

melissas@fisherpartners.net

Asli Tusavul

aslit@fisherpartners.net

Louis Weiss

louisw@fisherpartners.net
Administrative Team

Tony Buckli

tonyb@fisherpartners.net

Larisa Forester CPSM, Associate AIA

larisaf@fisherpartners.net

Michelangelo Sese

michelangelos@fisherpartners.net

Summer Stuckey

summers@fisherpartners.net